Tyler Woodley is new UFC welterweight champion

Tyler Woodley is new UFC welterweight champion

UFC 201 ended in shocking fashion in Atlanta, as Tyler Woodley pulled off a huge upset of former UFC welterweight champion, Robbie Lawler, knocking him out two minutes into the first round.

Pre-fight analysts questioned whether even Woodley deserved a shot at the belt, having been out of the Octagon for 18 months. He was also slated as a slight underdog, with betting odds against him. But the Chosen One stayed patient and confident, finally facing what might have been the only opportunity to prove them wrong.

- Advertisement -

ALSO READUFC champ Amanda Nunes calls out Ronda Rousey in recent Q&A

Coming from a two-win streak, Woodley went into the Octagon seemingly tense and nervous. The fight started slow, with neither Lawler nor Woodley throwing a punch for about 40 seconds. But Woodley, who is also known to be an aggressive starter, worked through his nerves and closed the distance. He then threw a huge overhand right on Lawler.

A hook that sent Lawler crashing down to the canvas prompting Woodley to lay it on the former champion with some ground and pound. The fight was stopped at 2:12, and a new UFC welterweight champion was crowned.

A replay of the knockout was shared by a fan via twitter.

“I knew what Robbie brought to the table. He’s a tough competitor. This is not the first fight I would pick. He’s a friend of mine. I admire his career. Hats off to Robbie, but I’ve been envisioning this belt being around my waist my entire life.” Woodley said, after the fight.

ALSO READUFC Rumors: Nate Diaz tells Conor McGregor to prepare to lose again?

Lawler, who attempted his third title defense, suffered his first loss in six fights, and now stands at 27-11. Tyler Woodley, on the other hand, has won three straight, with this being the biggest KO of his career. The welterweight champ now stands 15-4, in a division with a long list of possible contenders to defend his title against, led by Stephen “Wonderboy” Thompson who has seven consecutive wins.

PHOTO COURTESY: Antonio Fucito/ Flickr