Mountain West announces football divisions and championship game

The Mountain West Conference was saved from obscurity when Boise State and San Diego State announced they would stay and not compete in the Big East next season. The conference made multiple announcements today including two football divisions and a conference championship game.

The press release from the MWC official website revealed the football alignment was “based upon common geographic regions and traditional rivalries.”

Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming will be in the Mountain division and Fresno State Hawaii, Nevada, San Diego State, San Jose State and UNLV will represent the West Division.

The newest members of the conference, San Jose State and Utah State, come from the Western Athletic Conference. This transition of schools to the MWC is common practice- all 12 universities played in the WAC at one time.

The Idaho Statesman is reporting each team will play eight conference games, five teams in their division and three from the other division. The inaugural Mountain West championship game will be played on Saturday, Dec. 7 at the home of the qualifying school with the higher ranking in the BCS.

Categories: Collegiate,Football