NCAA Field of 64 Announced

The NCAA Division I baseball tournament competitors have been announced and the 16 regional sites have been set. Postseason baseball is on its way.  All 16 regionals will feature four teams in double-elimination format beginning May 31 and extending into June 3.

The 2013 regional sites will look very similar to that of the 2012 class featuring  Florida State, LSU, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, UCLA and Virginia will again host this season, according to

Leading the way for teams into the tournament is the SEC with nine, followed closely by the ACC who had eight teams selected. While the SEC placed the most teams in the tournament and tied the NCAA record, the ACC’s North Carolina Tarheels will claim the overall number one seed in this year’s tournament.

This year will also provide new opportunities for underdog teams to catch the eyes of Omaha faithful for the first time.  Six teams will make their first ever appearance in the NCAA tournament, Bryant, Canisius, Central Arkansas, Savannah State and South Dakota, in hopes to become the UC Irvine or TCU of the 2013 College World Series.

Regional competition will begin on May 31 and continue into June when the Super Regionals and College World Series parings will be announced. The 67th College World Series will kick off on June 15 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha Nebraska.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Categories: Collegiate