NHL sends realignment proposal to all 30 teams

The NHL is looking into realigning its teams. The current proposal includes reducing the number of divisions to four and adding wild card spots in the playoffs.

A team source told ESPN the 30 teams received a memo on Tuesday that detailed the new division alignments and a new playoff system.

Under the proposal the playoffs would not continue the current conference system but switch to divisional playoffs.

The top three teams in each division would make the playoffs and the two teams with the best records in the conference would take the wild card spots. So, it is possible for five teams from one division to qualify and only three from the other.

CBC was the first report on the new four divisions and who will be in each.

In the Eastern Conference there would be the Atlantic Division which consists of Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington. The other Eastern division would be Boston, Buffalo, Detroit, Florida, Montreal Ottawa, Tampa Bay and Toronto to be called the the Central Division.

In the West, Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg would be in the Midwest Division. The proposed Pacific Division is made up of Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose and Vancouver.

Categories: Hockey