Saketh, Somdev, Sanam to vie for Main Draw Slot at Aircel Chennai Open 2016

By on

CHENNAI, 31st December 2015: Just 4 days to go for tennis action at Chennai’s Nungambakkam Stadium, the excitement is in the air! The Qualifying singles rounds will be played on 2nd & 3rd January 2016 at the SDAT Stadium. Four places are up for grabs in the Singles Main Draw, and the result of these two days will determine which four players make it to the 28-player field of the 20th edition of India’s most premier and South Asia’s only ATP World Tour event in Chennai.

The Qualifying Singles is a draw of 16 with 14 direct acceptances and 2 wildcards. Leading the charge amongst the Indian boys will be Saketh Myneni, Somdev Devvarman and Sanam Singh. Sanam Singh was granted a wildcard into the Qualifying Singles Draw earlier this week, but has now gained direct entry into the qualifying main draw. In his place, Prajnesh Gunneswaran has been given a wildcard into the Qualifying Singles Draw along with N. Vijay Sundar Prashanth. The talented group will be looking to capitalize on the opportunity of playing against some of the best in the game, right here in Chennai.

The complete Qualifying Singles Draw is:

AIRCEL CHENNAI OPEN 2016 – Qualifying Singles Draw
Luca Vanni Italy 107
Jan‐Lennard Struff Germany 108
Elias Ymer Sweden 136
Blaz Kavcic Slovenia 151
James Ward Great Britain 156
Thomas Fabiano Italy 157
Alexander Kudryavtsev Russia 164
@Ante Pavic Croatia 166
Hans Podlipnik‐Castillo Chile 170
Saketh Myneni India 171
Somdev Devvarman India 180
Jozef Kovalik Slovakia 259
Sanam Singh India 279
Matthew Barton Australia 299
N. Vijay Sundar Prasanth (WC) India 378
Prajnesh Gunneswaran (WC) India 484

@ – Entry protection


ACO 2016 will witness an exceptional line-up of top talent at the US$ 480,000 prize money tournament. The impressive player field for the region’s most exciting and hard-fought tennis tournament will see World No. 4 Stan Wawrinka vying for a hat-trick of titles, Chennai-debutant World No. 12 Kevin Anderson, World No. 19, ATP’s Comeback Player of the Year 2015 Benoit Paire, World No. 25 Roberto Bautista-Agut, along with Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, Gilles Muller, Vasek Pospisil, Borna Coric, and Aljaz Bedene representing nine players from amongst the top 50 in the world.

The Title Sponsor for the tournament is Aircel and the event is supported by a consortium of sponsors in the Platinum, Gold and Silver category, headed by the Government of Tamil Nadu.

To Top