Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare multiplayer beta finally goes live, here’s what players need to expect

By on

Fans can now start playing Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare as the much-anticipated multiplayer beta starts today.

The controversial futuristic military shooter has been released today and players can get its most important mode, the competitive multiplayer, to the test. So, whether players will pay with friends, casual, competitive or eSport, Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare beta is finally available on PS4.

ALSO READ: WWE 2K17: Virtual currency farming guide; Tips to earn fast VC

Officially, the beta’s servers will go live at 10 am PST, or 1 pm EST today, October 14th. It will stay up until Monday, October 17th at 10 am PST/1 pm EST and that will be three days of play to finetune the game from bugs and errors.

According to Forbes, PS4 players who pre-ordered the game are the only ones who can play the beta this weekend while the game’s closed beta will go live for Xbox One gamers next week, October 21 to October 24. Sadly, the game’s beta will not be available on PC.

Video Courtesy: Call of Duty/YouTube

The following are what the players can expect from the beta, at least for now:

Three Combat Rigs 

The Warfighter, a mid-range combat rig and also good for general use rig; the Merc, a combat rig focused on defense and heavy weapons; and the Synaptic, a robotic close-quarters combat rig who is also a quick droid.

ALSO READ: Great Barrier Reef dead: We are dying too, sign of the times, more difficulties expected?

These rigs can be customized with their own Payloads and Traits and can be changed mid-match. For example, the Warfighter has a speed boost called Overdrive, the Merc has an electromagnetic shield called Reactive Armor and the Synaptic has a snap skill which can bounce back in time a short distance called Rewind.

Three Maps

These three maps are the Frontier, a two lane map set on a space station; the Throwback, a three-lane map with a vintage 1950’s theme; and the Frost, a three-lane research facility set on a moon of Jupiter.

Two Mission Teams

These are the Orion Initiative and JTF Wolverines, both of which offers mission which players must complete to rank up and earn special rewards like new prototype weapons and special items.

Four Modes

There are four modes available in combination with the maps and they are Team Deathmatch, Domination, Kill Confirmed and the new mode Defender, where players have to defend a drone from the other team.

The official release of Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare is on November 4, 2016. Players who have played in the game’s beta should not expect to carry over their progress in the main game as they have to start all over in terms of ranking up and progression.

Photo Courtesy: @blackops3callofdutyrevealed/Twitter

To Top