Dwyane Wade wasn’t fouled in game 5 against Hornets, says NBA

By on
NBA Playoffs (Courtesy: Logopedia/Wikimedia Commons)

The NBA has said that Dwyane Wade was not fouled during Miami Heat’s final offensive play in the last game against the Charlotte Hornets. Heat lost Game 5 and trail the first round playoff series of Eastern Conference 3-2.

Game 6 of the best-of-seven series is scheduled on Friday. Wade thought he was fouled, and Heat coach Spoelstra was sure of the foul-play.

“Look, it never is decided by those plays, but from my vantage point, Dwyane certainly looked like he got fouled,” Heat coach Erik Spoelstra said after the game.

Asked if he had seen a replay, Spoelstra said, “I don’t need to. He got fouled.”

Wade was defended by Hornets’ Cody Zellar and Courtnee Lee while he attempted to tie the scores with 2.6 seconds left. The veteran Heat superstar thought he was fouled by Zellar. Wade though was reluctant to view a replay like his coach only.

“There’s no reason for me to look at it,” he said, according to the ESPN. “It ain’t going to change anything. I thought I did [get fouled]. It wasn’t called.”

The league reviewed 26 events of the Miami-Charlotte game 5. The NBA said it released the report to maintain transparency as it received inquiries from teams and the media on certain calls.

“It’s important that we’re completely transparent and we get the information out there and people understand that we’re upfront about it and we admit mistakes,” Kiki VanDeWeghe, the NBA’s executive vice president of basketball operations, said Thursday. “But also, it’s important not only for the referees but for the teams and everybody else that we also talk about the ones we got right.”

Photo Courtesy: Keith Allison/ Wikimedia

To Top