Breaking NBA News: Russell Westbrook signing new 3-year, $85.7 million contract with OKC

By on
NBA, 2016-17 NBA Season, Russell Westbrook, LeBron James, Kawhi Leonard, Kevin Durant, James Harden
Russell Westbrook (Photo Courtesy: Keith Allison/Flickr)

The NBA rumors surrounding Russell Westbrook are now put to rest after he renegotiated a new contract with the Oklahoma City Thunder. Westbrook reportedly agreed to sign a new three-year, $85 million deal.

According to ESPN, the new contract will increase the salary of Westbrook next season with a player option for the 2018-19 season. The Thunder are expected to hold a news conference on Thursday to officially announce the new contract for their superstar point guard.

ALSO READ: Team USA lost in 2004 Olympics because of coach Larry Brown

Adrian Wojnarowski of The Vertical noted that Westbrook’s salary for the upcoming 2016-17 season increases from $17.8 million to $26.5 million maximum. The five-time All-Star will then make $28.5 million for the 2017-18 season while having a $30.6 million player option.

Many anxious Thunder fans can now relax for the next couple of years as Russell Westbrook will be staying in Oklahoma City. General manager Sam Presti was ready to trade Westbrook this offseason if they failed to negotiate a new deal.

The Thunder have already lost Kevin Durant for free this offseason and Presti will never let that happen again with Westbrook. The departure of Durant probably lit a fire inside the two-time All-Star Game MVP and he will come out with a vengeance next season.

Oklahoma City is still a playoff team and fans should expect Westbrook to be a top MVP candidate due to averaging a near triple-double. He will not be alone as Victor Oladipo, Steven Adams and Enes Kanter are still good players.

ALSO READ: Derek Fisher weighs option to either make a comeback or play overseas

On the other hand, the news of the Russell Westbrook re-signing with the Thunder is a blow to several teams that were linked to him. Some of these teams are the Los Angeles Lakers, Boston Celtics, San Antonio Spurs and Milwaukee Bucks.

Photo Courtesy: Keith Allison/Flickr

To Top