NASCAR Xfinity Series: Michael Annett will race for JR Motorsports in 2017

By on

JR Motorsports (JRM) has expanded its vision for the racing season of 2017. Come 2017, the Mooresville-based stock racing car team will burn the tracks in NASCAR Infinity Series with four full-time teams. The most attractive aspect of this expansion is the multi-year agreement with Michael Annett.

Currently racing for HScott Motorsports in Car No.46 Chevrolet SS, Michael Annett has so far participated in 103 races spanning over 3 years. His current team, HScott is yet to decide whether it wants to continue for the next season.

A native of Iowa, Annett will join the likes of full-time seasoned drivers Elliot Sadler and Justin Allgaier, and the rookie entry William Byron. The new development in Annett’s career comes at the backdrop of the Sunday finale at the Martinsville Speedway, where he finished at 35th position, following a sultry summer race. As per the report by ESPN, the Iowan driver suffered severe dehydration at the end of the race.

Annett has been racing in NASCAR Sprint Cup since 2014 with HScott Motorsports. He is back to NASCAR Xfinity racing, where he was part of JRM, driving No.5 from 2009 to 2013. The decision to enroll Annett into JRM comes after a multi-year driver agreement with William Byron, who will drive the No.9 in 2017.

In the news published by JRM, Annett acknowledged the role the role played by Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Kelley Earnhardt Miller in bringing together a great team for the 2017 season. In 2016, the team has fielded three full-time teams on the Xfinity series: No.1 Elliott Sadler, No. 7 Justin Allgaier and No.88 Kevin Harvick. Meanwhile, all three current drivers are burning serious practice run at the Texas Motor Speedway, leveling the minor technical issues.

In addition to signing deal with Annett, JR Motorsports has also brought in Pilot Flying J which is North America’s largest travel centers and plazas operator, based in Knoxville, Tennessee. Pilot Flying J has partnered with Annett in all NASCAR’s top three series so far.

Image courtesy: tpsdave/ Pixabay

To Top