Novi Sad Al Wahda retains FIBA 3×3 World title

By on

Novi Sad Al Wahda (UAE) remains on top of the 3×3 basketball food chain.

This after they posted a 17-14 victory over Slovenian team Kranj in the title game of the FIBA 3×3 World Tour Final held in Abu Dhabi over the weekend.

Novi Sad Al Wahda had a perfect 5-0 run in Corniche, a high-traffic leisure area located at the shores of the Arab Gulf.

The world’s number one 3×3 player, Dusan Domovic Bulut, lived up to expectations and led all scorers throughout the tournament with 42 points en route to being named the most valuable player.

In the final round, with Novi Sad Al Wahda dominating from start to finish, Bulut posted a game0high eight points to help give the team its third straight title, while the sharpshooting Dejan Majstorovic chipped in six points.

Boris Jersin, meanwhile, paced Kranj with seven points, while Mensud Julevic added five.

Novi Sad Al Wahda took home the US $30,000 cash prize for topping the event and an automatic berth for the FIBA 3×3 All Stars while Kranj took home US $20,000. Third-place NY Harlem (USA) earned US $16,000, Trbovlje got $12,000 after finishing fourth, and Ljubljana (SLO) were rewarded with US $10,000 for their fifth place finish. Manila North (PHI) placed sixth good for a cash prize of US $8,000.

Meanwhile, another champion successfully defended his crown in Abu Dhabi. Rafal “Lipek” Lipinski from Poland made history after bagging the FIBA 3×3 World Tour Mercedes-Benz-EMC dunk title for the fourth consecutive year. He bested Canada’s Jordan ‘Mission Impossible’ Kilganon in the final.

Denver’s Derek Griffin (Denver) – a member of the exclusive group of 12 players who played in all four editions of the FIBA 3×3 World Tour, meanwhile won the Abu Dhabi Sports Council’s Shoot-Out Contest.
Final Standings of the 2015 FIBA 3×3 World Tour Final:
1. Novi Sad Al Wahda (UAE)
2. Kranj (SLO)
3. NY Harlem (USA)
4. Trbovlje (SLO)
5. Ljubljana (SLO)
6. Manila North (PHI)
7. Rio (BRA)
8. Denver (USA)
9. Doha (QAT)
10. Kolobrzeg (POL)
11. Vilnius (LTU)
12. Santos (BRA)

To Top