MVP Stephen Curry Wins Magic Johnson Award

By on
nba stephen curry, curry nba, curry shoes, stephen curry shoes, lebron james, golden state, under armour shoes, under armour outlet, under armour football, under armout shirt, nike air, nike shoes, golden state warriors, warrior, nba warrior
Photo courtesy: Keith Allison/

One more feather on the reigning MVP’s crown. Stephen Curry has won the Magic Johnson award. The honor is awarded to the guy who combines on court excellence with cooperation and dignity while dealing with media and people, as announced by the Professional Basketball Writers Association.

The MVP has notched up 402 three-pointers this season scoring 45.2 percent of his attempts. His average is 30.1 points per game. Curry led the Warriors to compile a 73-9 win regular season record, the best in the NBA history. At the same time, Curry didn’t get into any controversy with the media, and maintained a relationship of mutual respect with it. Pau Gasol was the winner of the award last season.

Carmelo Anthony of the New York Knicks, Draymond Green of the Warriors, Damian Lillard of the Portland Trail Blazers and Paul Millsap of the Atlanta Hawks- are the four more players in the list of finalists for the Magic Johnson award, according to the Real GM.

The winner was selected through a vote of PBWA members. The Association started the award in 2001, considering Earvin “Magic” Johnson of the Los Angeles Lakers as the ideal man for the award.

The PBWA comprises of 175 members who regularly cover the NBA for news papers, online outlets and magazines.

Here is a list of winners from 2001-Courtesy: PBWA’s official site.

2000-01 Ray Allen, Milwaukee Bucks
2001-02 Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2002-03 Jalen Rose, Chicago Bulls
2003-04 Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana Pacers
2004-05 Antawn Jamison, Washington Wizards
2005-06 Grant Hill, Orlando Magic
2006-07 Shane Battier, Houston Rockets
2007-08 Derek Fisher, Los Angeles Lakers
2008-09 Brandon Roy, Portland Trail Blazers
2009-10 Chris Bosh, Toronto Raptors
2010-11 Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
2011-12 Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
2012-13 Shane Battier, Miami Heat
2013-14 Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks
2014-15 Pau Gasol, Chicago Bulls
2015-16 Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors

Photo courtesy: Keith Allison/

To Top