WATCH: Federer, Nadal, Djokovic, Williams and other tennis stars when they won their first Australian Open title

By on
Roger Feder vs Novak Djokovic

In the spirit of the first Grand Slam tournament of the 2016 tennis season, the Australian Open, also known as the “happy slam,” we have compiled the videos of your favorite tennis players when they claimed their first grand slam glory in Melbourne. This year’s edition runs from Jan. 18 to Jan. 31, 2016.

Roger Federer

The 17-time grand slam champion won his maiden Australian Open title in 2004 when he beat Marat Safin in straight sets in the finals, 7-6(3) 6-4 6-2. It was Federer’s second grand slam title after claiming his first grand slam title at the Wimbledon Championships the following year. Federer’s victory in Melbourne in 2004 gave him a boost to dethrone Andy Roddick on top of the world rankings in men’s tennis.

After winning the Australian Open 2014, Federer went on to win the Wimbledon Championships and the US Open the very same year.

Federer clinched his 300th win in a grand slam setup when he beat Grigor Dimitrov in Rod Laver Arena at the Australian Open 2016. Following his milestone victory against the Bulgarian, Federer defeated David Goffin, 6-2 6-1 6-4 and Tomas Berdych, 7-6(4) 6-2 6-4 to seal his spot in the final four where he will play defending champion Novak Djokovic.  Federer is a four-time Australian Open champion (2004, 2006, 2007, and 2010).

Video courtesy: YouTube/Australian Open TV

Novak Djokovic

Djokovic beat Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in four sets in the men’s singles finals of the 2008 Australian Open to claim his first-ever trophy in Melbourne, 4-6 6-4 6-3,7-6(2). It was the first time that the Serbian tennis ace had triumphed in a grand slam tournament.

Djokovic won his second grand slam trophy exactly three years after he defeated Tsonga at the Australian Open 2011.

The top-ranked Serbian is bidding to defend his title in Melbourne this year. He is a five-time Australian Open champion having had won in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2015.

Video courtesy: YouTube/Australian Open TV

Rafael Nadal

Nadal, a 14-time grand slam champion, won his lone Australian Open title in 2009 when he beat Federer in a thrilling five-set final, 7-5 3-6 7-6(3) 3-6 6-2.

It was the duo’s first encounter in a hard-court grand slam setup. Nadal became the first Spanish tennis player to win the Australian Open and the first male player to hold three grand slam titles on three different surfaces at the same time after winning the Roland Garros and Wimbledon Championships the previous year.

This year, Nadal crashed out of the Australian Open in the first round. He lost to compatriot Fernando Verdasco in five sets, 7-6(6) 4-6 3-6 7-6(4) 6-2.


Video courtesy: YouTube/Australian Open TV

Serena Williams

Serena rallied for 7-6(4) 3-6 6-4 victory over her sister Venus in the women’s singles finals to win the 2003 Australian Open. In the women’s doubles event, she teamed up with her sister to take the title against Virginia Ruano Pascual and Paola Suarez, 4-6 6-4 6-3.

The 21-grand slam champion is now bidding to win her seventh Australian Open title. She is looking to defend her title against Angelique Kerber in the final.


Video courtesy: YouTube/Australian Open TV

Maria Sharapova

The five-time Russian grand slam champion, Sharapova, claimed her maiden Australian Open title in 2008 when she beat Serbian Ana Ivanovic in straight sets, 7-5 6-3, making her the first Russian to win the tournament.

Sharapova reached this year’s quarterfinals in Melbourne before losing to Serena in straight sets, 6-4 6-1. It also marked the 18th straight time that she lost against the American in her career.

Video courtesy: YouTube/Australian Open TV

Victoria Azarenka

Azarenka and Sharapova went head-to-head for the title at the 2012 Australian Open, but the Belarusian player outplayed the Russian tennis darling to win her maiden grand slam title. She also claimed the top rank in women’s tennis following her victory in Melbourne in 2012.  Azarenka successfully defended the title the following year beating China’s Li Na in straight sets, 7-6(3) 6-0.

Azarenka reached the final eight this year, but lost to Kerber of Germany 6-3 7-5. Kerber will meet Serena, who is bidding to win a seventh title in Melbourne, in the finals.


Video courtesy: YouTube/Australian Open TV

Main photo courtesy: 20minutes.fr

To Top