West Indies all set to tour Australia with an unchanged squad

By on

West Indies have named an unchanged squad for their upcoming Test tour of Australia.

Led by captain Jason Holder and vice-captain Kraigg Brathwaite, the same 15 men who took on Sri Lanka in October will make the tour to Australia with the only exception being coach Phil Simmons who has been reinstated by the WICB following his suspension in September.

Simmons was suspended for questioning the continued omissions of all-rounders Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard.

Both Bravo and Pollard are not included in the upcoming Test squad for Australia with the selectors opting to keep faith on the same players who just lost two Tests in Sri Lanka instead.

Allrounder Carlos Brathwaite is the only uncapped player in the Test squad though he has one-day internationals and T20s for West Indies to his credit.

West Indies have not won a test match in Australia since 1997 and against Australians anywhere since 2003. Australia recently beat West Indies in two tests in Caribbean in June.

Allrounder Jason Holder will lead the squad for Australia which also includes legspinner Devendra Bishoo. Bishoo, one of the bright men from the June series took 6/80 in the first innings of the first test in Dominica.

The series begins with the first test in Hobart starting December 10 followed by further tests in Melbourne from December 26 and Sydney from Jan 3.

The Caribbean team will depart on November 23 and will play one warm-up match against Cricket Australia XI at Allen Border Field in Brisbane from December 2 to 5.

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice-captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajindra Chandrika, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Jomel Warrican


To Top