Tennis number ones Novak Djokovic, Serena Williams named Laureus top athletes

Tennis player Novak Djokovic of Serbia kisses his Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award during the Laureus World Sports Awards 2016 in Berlin, Germany, April 18, 2016. REUTERS/Hannibal Hanschke

World tennis number ones Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams continue to pile up their winnings. This time they were both named as the World’s top athletes in the 2016 Laureus award held in Berlin.

The two are no strangers to the award giving body as both Djokovic and Williams got their awards in previous reiterations of the event. Djokovic bested a very competitive roster including football star Lionel Messi, sprinter Usain Bolt and Formula One’s champion Lewis Hamilton.

Williams, who was not present during the awards night, reigned supreme once again as she bested footballer Carli Lloyd and Jamaican sprinter Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce. In his acceptance speech, Djokovic dedicated his award to fellow awardees Formula One’s Niki Lauda and the late soccer coach Johan Cruyff.

Other athletes named during the awards night included golfer Jordan Spieth as the breakthrough of the year awardee for winning the 2015 US Masters and US Open tournaments; New Zealand’s rugby team the All Blacks taking the team awards following their World Cup victory; and triathlete Jan Frodeno being named as action sportsperson of the year.

The award giving body also acknowledge Dutch football player and coach Johan Cruyff with the posthumous award after he died of cancer in March. His son, Jordi, accepted the award on his behalf.

The awards night was filled with popular personalities including comic with actor Bill Murray acting as the event’s host. The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honoring remarkable individuals from the world of sports along with the greatest sporting achievements throughout the year.

It was established in 1999 by founding patrons Daimler and Richemont and is supported by its global partners Mercedes-Benz and IWC Schaffhausen. The first ceremony was held on May 25, 2000 in Monte Carlo.

To find the winners of the Laureus World Sports Awards, the Laureus Nominations Panel composed of professional sports editors, writers and broadcasters.

To Top